Mysterious Fireball Streaks Across the Night Sky

A fireball in the night sky would at least draw me to my window, if not outside. I have a bit of self-preservation in me (some might call it cowardice).

But then I live in a world where fireballs at night are not the norm.

meteorite-1060886_640

But I’ve often wondered if people in a fantasy world where there’s magic would respond in the same way. Would they be startled and intrigued, or would they respond much as we do to an airplane passing overhead?

I suppose it would depend. Simply because magic is possible, doesn’t mean it’s everywhere. And it’s possible that some cultures would’ve adopted it more readily than others.

Long ago, back before I had kids, I played World if Warcraft for awhile. I remember when they first came out with Blood Elves and it was intriguing to play a character whose whole race depended on magic, especially after having played a Tauren in Thunder Bluff.

I imagine a fireball in Thunder Bluff would’ve been met with a lot more interest than one in Silvermoon City.

In the novels I’ve written or am working on so far, there is magic, but it’s the exception. While magic exists, it’s unusual for someone to know how to use it. It makes them special. Unique. Dangerous. So far, all of these works take place in roughly the same kingdom.

As I contemplate another story in the same world, I am considering setting it in a very different kingdom the revolves around the imperial elves of T’analear. This would involve creating a very different culture. One that not only has embraced magic, but takes it for granted.

Kinda like my kids do with iPads. Of course there are iPads and they have access to all of the information in all of the world. And cat memes. Those too.

First-World-Problems-Cat-1

I imagine Prince Celadrius would be more annoyed than curious about a fireball streaking across the night sky, whereas Sir Marcus would be grabbing his sword and shield.

How about you? What’s your response to a mysterious fireball in the sky?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mysterious Fireball Streaks Across the Night Sky

  1. I have read less than two handful novels that do not have magic in them in the last twenty years. (Technical manuals excluded.) I would hunt for the spellcaster. I have magic in both of my novels. Look around us, there is magic everywhere – people don’t recognize or appreciate it. Not all magic is fireballs!
    Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great. It very much has me thinking about what we’d do with everyday magic (the janitor brooms of silvermoon). What would be ordinary and dull. Kids cutting spells class, adults bemoaning potions factories…industrial magic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

