Failure of the One Week Ban

I completely failed not reading for a week. As a matter of fact, I failed within 24 hours of making the post!

fire-1391676_640
Resolution up in flames.

It’s just too easy and too enjoyable to kick back and open a book while I sit with the kids and they play. So much better than Sesame Street, let me tell you.

And once I’m into the book, I want to see it through. I want to know what happens, and will usually keep on reading even if the story is a train wreck. That’s something I need to be better about, but then I do sometimes learn something from the bad as well as the good. I just don’t need to spend quite so much time with the bad.

Perhaps the ease is part of the problem. My Kindle app has made it so easy to get new books, and so easy to read them that I am perhaps spending more time reading that writing.

Okay, I am definitely spending more time reading that writing.

Not that it’s an entirely bad thing for a writer, but it’s still a thing.

I won’t lie and pretend it’s research or that it will make my writing better by simply reading. I know that it takes thought to turn what you read into a lesson of what to do or not do with your writing. Best of all worlds is to have someone to critique it with, especially if they don’t agree with all of your views.

While I don’t have a critique partner, I do try to force myself to think through and write a review. Still working out the best review format for others to decide if they want to give the book a try and for me to get the most out of writing the review.

I suppose there are worse things I could be doing than reading.

Or better. Like reading while on the elliptical. Or actually writing.

4 thoughts on “Failure of the One Week Ban

  1. Do you want to write?
    (No snark. Serious question. It is ok to say you want to read, you might be a review blogger at heart for this point in your life. That is not bad.)
    If you do then sometimes I think you do need to really dig into the hard stuff to come out with something, even if that means more revision. Even if it hurts and sucks and feels crummy.

    But you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to. And it is ok to go, not for me now. But it is also ok to go ARG! I hate this and I feel crappy when I do it but I need to get it done and it is hard work and it kind of sucks but it will be worth it so I’ll keep going. Writing isn’t all butterflies and unicorns.

    (Also – see me avoiding writing a blog post about that very thing! ;))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right, of course. I am not sure what I want. I am feeling very discouraged after more rejection letters.

      Is this a thing worth doing? Is it worth the time, effort, and energy if it never sees the light of day?

      I don’t know.

      It’s easier to do a hard thing when you know there’s a reasonably good chance it’ll get you closer to your goal.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Very interesting point. What is your goal?

        I think about the first few books I wrote (and I know big name authors say this too and I try to hold that close) and I learned a lot from them. Even though none of them will see the light of day. And what I write today is better because of the thing I wrote before. So even if this book doesn’t get published that doesn’t mean that you aren’t progressing along the path. If you are learning from what you do you are getting closer to your goal.

        If your goal is to publish This One Book. Then yeah, maybe self-publishing is the trick. If your goal is to be a great writer then maybe it is ok to let this book go and move on. If your goal is to become a moderately successful writer in the genre you love then maybe you just need more practice and to have enough back catalog. If your goal is to say you wrote a novel? You win! 🙂 If your goal is to become wealthy beyond reason from writing then spend way too much time on the author earnings site and figure out what is the next trend and just write to hit that.

        So what is the goal?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thinking about this, it’s more what do I want versus what do I dream about.

    Sure, I dream about being the next Stephen King or JK Rowling.

    What do I want? To be a good writer and recognized as such. I don’t ever expect it to pay the bills like my day job does. After all, I picked my profession partially because I was good at it and partially because it keeps a roof over our heads.

    What I would like it to do is pay well enough that it pays for itself. That if I need to take a class, or if I need a website etc. that the writing pays for it rather than my day job.

    Even more than that, I’d like people I don’t know to read what I’ve written, enjoy it, and want to read another story written by me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

