Book Review: Tycoon (The Knickerbocker Club)

Rating: 3/5

Title: Tycoon (The Knickerbocker Club)

Author: Joanna Shupe

book-1291164_640

I call this a book review, but after I purchased it, I realized it was a novella. Easy read I finished in less than a night.

This is a tough review to write because there is so little to say about it. It’s vanilla at best. The heroine witnesses a crime, and the criminals see her. They give chase, and she throws herself at a gentleman who, fortunately for her, is a gentleman.

They have a budding romance in the course of 2 days on the train in his private car that is convoluted by all sorts of mistrust between both of them. He thinks she’s a scam artist, and she’s not ready to trust a man she just met.

One of the criminals managed to get passage on the same train, and he forces the issues between them as he tries to kill the heroine.

Pros

  1. The steamy scenes are good.
  2. I liked the hero. He’s the white knight that is really my cup of tea. But there is so little to him. Not a lot of depth or character building, and I find that so odd as he was an Ohio farm boy that is now one of the richest men in America. It seems like there should be so much more to him.
  3. I never liked the heroine, but I never disliked her either.

 

Cons

  1. The romance just wasn’t all that believable to me. I guess falling for someone in two days does that, especially as I could see so little in common between the characters. There was no depth, no connection. But then that might be because the characters were rather flat.
  2. I liked the peripheral characters of the Webbers probably the best of anyone in the book. Especially Mrs. Webber. That says something.
  3. I didn’t feel like the tension between the characters was all that believable.  I can see where he’d think she was a scam artist, but the way he waffles on it back and forth – doesn’t seem like the same man that would propose after knowing her for 2 days.
  4. Odd that she trusts the hero enough to sleep in the same train car as him, but not enough to tell him the truth as to why she needs his help

Leave a Reply

