Doubt: The Tyrannosaurus Demon

The niggle of doubt when I first sent out my work has grown into a full blown Tyrannosaurus demon, devouring any creativity I had and leaving me snarling and snapping.

Demon
Doubt. You remember him.

I got another rejection letter. Four of the five letters I send out have already been rejected.

Like a good little wannabe published writer, I went back to the Writer’s Market and read through a list of agents. I ticked off several that felt like a good fit, but found one that looked like an amazing fit. Visited their website, yes, the one agent in the publishing house looked like she was after exactly what I was writing. I read through their submissions guidelines, and recrafted my query letter to meet those exact guidelines.

And received an instant rejection as the agent was no longer accepting queries.  I promise nowhere on the webpage or the Writer’s Market did it indicate this was the case. I had read the submissions guidelines on the webpage thoroughly. Multiple times.

So, the entire time I had to write last night ended up being a complete waste of time.

And I’m still struggling with the query letter.

Maybe that means I don’t have enough conflict. Or not the right conflict.

Or, I’ve been reading too much on how to query in genres outside of mine.

No idea, but either way, I see why so many people quit. I see why the doubt can build up and you wonder what’s the point.

I made myself finish off the night by repacking it and sending it to yet another agent.

I’m getting to that point, but I’m not there yet.

2 thoughts on “Doubt: The Tyrannosaurus Demon

Leave a Reply

